I Do Wish I Could Stay & Chat Longer, But I’m Having An Old Friend For Dinner.

Happy Friday!

The sky is dark and the rain is pouring down. Short of booming thunder and lightning splitting the sky open, I can’t think of a better evening to end this week’s theme of:

As I’ve mentioned, Lecter is my favorite villain. I mentioned in my first post of the week that I find villains far more interesting than heroes.

Villains are usually more complex than heroes. They have a more interesting, albeit darker, history. One of the reasons I am so taken with Hannibal is his intelligence and use of language. The fact that he tortures those in adjoining cells, not with any kind of weapon, but rather in what he says is (of course creepy) horrifyingly amazing. High intelligence in itself is sometimes a frightening thing. It’s basically being a savant in one area while incredibly lacking in another or several areas ( ie. empathy, a conscience, etc. in Lecter’s case).

And just for the record, you or I can find something fascinating without wanting to emulate it.

Before we talk about the final book in this series, I just want to remind you or anyone new that Fridays on this blog are for celebrating my three favorites:

1. Books

2. Desert

3. Drinks

So let’s go!

The Book:

Hannibal by Thomas Harris is the fourth book in the Hannibal Lecter series. It was written third, but should be read last.

This story begins with Hannibal back in the world as a free man. Not from being released, but from having escaped custody. He has been out for seven years, savoring everything he holds dear.

There are a few side stories in this novel. One is Clarice Starling from the previous book, The Silence of the Lambs. She still remembers (obviously) working with Lecter and somewhat holds these memories dear. While working with him to find serial killer Buffalo Bill, her and Lecter found and formed a connection. I feel like this novel opens with the idea that Lecter is searching for Starling, not to cause harm, but simply to find her.

Another story is that of Mason Verger. Verger was Lecter’s sixth victim, but he survived. Except his survival is one that exists from a bed and if I’m remembering correctly, a ventilator. He wants vengeance.

There’s also word of Lecter residing in Europe, so the police, FBI, and now Interpol are involved in finding him.

I absolutely will not tell you how this book ends. I will say the ending is one that I just read for the sake of reading every now and again because it is so visual to me. It’s only a few pages, but it’s so well done.

Hannibal is my favorite book of the four. It scared me the most, made me think the most, and just got to me on so many levels. I’m not sure I want to know where or how Thomas Harris conjured such a creature as Hannibal Lecter, but I’m glad he did, because it/he makes for some great reading.

Another thing, which is so rare- in fact, I can’t think of another example. The Hannibal books, movies, and NBC TV show featuring Mads Mikkelsen are all great. Typically when a different actor portrays the same character, something is lost. For some reason Anthony Hopkins as Lecter in the films works a little too well (I think he will forever be known for this role) and Mikkelsen in the TV role is also done quite well. My only complaint, although I do like her as an actress, is Juliann Moore. I wish Jodie Foster had continued on as Agent Starling in Hannibal rather than Moore. But it’s a minor blip in the whole scheme of things.

The Dessert:

These are Keto Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies and are delicious. I found the recipe on Pinterest:

Combine: Set Oven to: 350

1 cup almond flour

1 cup stevia

1 cup pumpkin purée

1 egg

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp vanilla. I used Pumpkin Pie syrup by Jordan’s Skinny Syrups

1/2 cup Lily’s chocolate chips

1/4 cup pecans

Combine all in one bowl. Place small balls of mixture on to a parchment paper covered cookie sheet. Flatten the balls out a bit.

Cook for at least twenty minutes, depending your oven, they may require more or less time. I made 26 cookies with this recipe. A little over I net carb per cookie.

The Drink:

I’ve had Carnivor wine before. It’s a Cabernet Sauvignon from California that suits Dr. Hannibal Lecter quite well. Another option is to pair it with fava beans while having an old friend for dinner.

Cheers 🍷

“In the vaults of our hearts and brains, danger waits. All the chambers are not lovely, light and high. There are holes in the floor of the mind, like those in a medieval dungeon floor – the stinking oubliettes, named for forgetting, bottle-shaped cells in solid rock with the trapdoor in the top.” -Thomas Harris, Hannibal

4 thoughts on “I Do Wish I Could Stay & Chat Longer, But I’m Having An Old Friend For Dinner.

Leave a comment